VisArts Art Walk: Revolution Journey

from July 24 to September 30

Enjoy local artist activations compliments of VisArts throughout the center.

Visit artist Dunnie's work titles "Revolution Journey" - located upper level Macy's Home wing 

Artist Statement About the Work: 

This mural is a part of Dunnie Onasanya’s freedhand journey series. This multilayered design was intuitively hand illustrated while she reflected on the significance of the current Black Lives Matter Movement. We are witnessing a pivotal awakening in our nation’s history. This Revolution is a not a destination but a transformational journey. The colors chosen for this mural derive from the Rastafarian Colors & the Pan African Flag.  

 

The BLACK represents all black lives and all black people all over the world.  

The RED is represents of blood that unites all people of Black African ancestry, and shed for liberation.  

The YELLOW represents happiness & joyful spirit that Black people possess through all adversity.  

The GREEN represents hope & the abundant original natural wealth of Africa.

About the Artist: 

Dunnie Onasanya is a Nigerian American visual artist and muralist. Dunnie is currently a full time studio artist at VisArts where she is devoting her time to polishing her skills as a canvas painter and muralist. 

 

Her work is heavily influenced by her West African heritage and faith in GOD. As an expressionist intuitive painter she creates breathtaking abstract works, cultural masks, hamsas and other historic symbols with the use of bright colors, metallic paints while incorporating 3D elements such as crushed glass, gold leaf, glitter and jewels. 

 

Website: www.dunnietheartist.com 

Day Date Hours
Sunday 09 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday 10 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday 11 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday 12 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday 13 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday 14 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday 15 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday 16 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday 17 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday 18 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday 19 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday 20 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday 21 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday 22 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday 23 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday 24 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday 25 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday 26 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday 27 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday 28 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday 29 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday 30 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday 31 Aug 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday 01 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday 02 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday 03 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday 04 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday 05 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday 06 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday 07 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday 08 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday 09 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday 10 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday 11 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday 12 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday 13 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday 14 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday 15 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday 16 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday 17 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday 18 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday 19 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday 20 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday 21 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday 22 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday 23 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday 24 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday 25 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday 26 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday 27 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday 28 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday 29 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday 30 Sep 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM