Just over 10 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and 20 miles from Oakland International Airport (OAK), Westfield San Francisco Centre stands just two blocks from the lively Union Square. The Centre is within walking distance to the city's best hotels, restaurants and attractions.
In 1896, Adolph Feiss founded The Emporium as a cooperative of privately-owned stores at the historic Market Street address. It soon became the flagship location of the Northern California department store chain for nearly 100 years. One of the first Americans to be trained at the École des Beaux Arts in Paris, architect Albert Pissis designed the building in this elaborate style. The Emporium became a hub of social activity featuring a two-tiered bandstand and café under the magnificent Dome, where concerts were held every Saturday night.
In 1906, a massive earthquake devastated San Francisco. The subsequent fires consumed all of The Emporium except the beaux arts façade on Market Street. It took two years to rebuild the structure and its celebrated Dome. The beautiful flagship on Market between 4th and 5th Streets remained a shopping destination for generations of Bay Area residents and visitors until 1996.
Forest City Enterprises and The Westfield Group began a $460 million transformation to reopen the monumental location in 2006. During the revitalization, the building's neoclassical facade and dome were beautifully restored, while the interior was rebuilt to meet the highest seismic standards. The legendary Dome now reigns as the stunning landmark of the Centre.
Each year, 20 million guests visit the newly expanded Westfield San Francisco Centre's more than 1.5 million square foot venue. The third largest urban shopping center in the nation offers more than 200 specialty stores and restaurants including the west coast flagship of Bloomingdale's, the second largest Nordstrom, and Burke Williams Day Spa, the city's largest day spa at 16,000 square feet. The exclusive dining choices of the Restaurant Collection Under the Dome, the Food Emporium and Bristol Farms fulfill the centre's promise as the finest shopping, dining and entertainment destination in San Francisco.
Westfield San Francisco Centre seamlessly blends modern architecture with historic features of its landmark location.
Designed by renowned architect Albert Pissis, the original Dome and Market Street façade were considered the signature features of the building when it opened in 1896.
The 102 foot-wide, three-story circular structure weighs 500,000 pounds. The restored dome is the centerpiece of a 200-foot-long, 65-foot-wide atrium and colonnade. It is 98-feet from the floor of the grand rotunda, which begins on the fourth floor of the centre, to the top of the Dome's ceiling. As part of the construction process, the Dome was elevated 58-feet in its original position to the roof of the new structure to allow natural light through its crown and lunette windows. The Dome now sits about 168-feet above Market and Mission Streets. More than 900 lights encased in the ribs of the Dome have been restored around its more than 800 glass panels.
Today, the Dome entertains visitors from around the world each night during the holiday season with Illuminque Under the Dome, a one-of-a-kind animated 3D light spectacular.
The façade is built mostly of Colusa sandstone with a brick backing. The cast-iron window system, sandstone walls, columns, historic wood windows and glazing were completely restored. The revived street level features extensive display windows, bronze doors and copper piping, all elements of its 1908 appearance, as well as charming concealed entries and windows. Balustrades removed in years past are again prominent at the building's cornice and over the main entry of the fourth floor. At night, lighting highlights the façade's remarkable architecture. The Market Street façade serves as a main entrance to the centre preserving the old world charm of historic Union Square and Market Street.